DRINK along with Le Tour de France

July is my very favourite sporting month, thanks to the greatest of bike races and the ultimate trek – the Tour de France. The men riding in Le Tour de France face an epic journey: broken bones, road rash, scaling mountains, extreme heat, fans that exemplify fanatical, and cobbles from hell. This year’s 99th TdF runs from June 30 through to July 22 and will cover a total distance of 3,497 kilometres.

That’s worthy of a good DRINK. And believe me you, these boys deserve a daily cheers. EAT will be tweeting a daily DRINK (in 140 characters or less), following le Tour across France and sharing what the riders might be sipping at the end of their day. Be adventurous – drink along with the peloton!

Although cycling isn’t a big sport in Canada, we have a world-class athlete and contender in Victoria-born Ryder Hesjedal. Follow Ryder and toast him on twitter @ryder_hesjedal.

 

 

Saturday, June 30.  The 99th #TdF started today in Liège – a popular place for the Juniper-based spirit drink Peket (akin to Jenever Gin)

Sunday, July 1. The #TdF remains in Belgium today, ending in Seraing, Wallonia region & home to 3 kinds of Trappist beer (Chimay, Orval & Rochefort)

Monday, July 2. Today’s #TdF rolled thru Nivelles, named for Jean de Nivelle, baron of Montmorency & popular man w nursery rhymes & local beer named for him

Tuesday, July 3. Today’s #Tdf enters France’s top tip: Nord-Pas-de-Calais region & ends in bustling sea port of Boulogne-sur-Mer. Endive liqueurs found here

Wednesday, July 4. #TdF rolled through Fécamp today, site of Benedictine Palace & home to one of the most famous herbal liquors in France – Bénédictine

Thursday, July 5. #TdF ends in Saint-Quentin & aperitif Folie Douce: fruity wine fr natural ferm. of strawb, raspb, redcurrants, cassis, mulberries & rhubarb

Friday, July 6. #TdF started today’s stage in Épernay – the capital & heartland of CHAMPAGNE – Cheers!

Saturday, July 7. #TdF climbed through Franche-Comté Region, alongside Jura department. Jura’s distinctive Vin Jaune (yellow wine) is similar to Fino sherry

Sunday, July 8. Sunday’s ‪#tdf‬ began in Belfort. Locals enjoy Brimbul as an aperitif – a blend of sparkling Crémant du Jura wine, bilberry & a dash of gin

Monday, July 9. Vin Jaune in Franche-Comté Region is aged in barrel under yeast (like Sherry) but isn’t fortified. It is made from the Savagnin grape #TdF

Tuesday, July 10. Rest Day.

Wednesday, July 11. after yesterday’s rest day, #TdF began today in Mâconnais, home to great value Chardonnay, especially from Pouilly-Fuissé AOC

Thursday, July 12. #TdF climbed thru Rhône-Alpes, landing in La Toussuire. Locals drink walnut-hued Mont-Corbier liquor, distilled from herbal Alpine plants

Friday, July 13. Today’s ‪#TdF‬ rolled through Saint-Laurent-du-Pont, original site of Old Carthusian Fathers distillery, where Chartreuse was created in 1737

Saturday, July 14. #TdF began Bastille Day @ Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteaux, home to AOC wines of Grignan-les-Adhémar (was Coteaux du Tricastin until 2010 vintage)

Sunday, July 15. Sunday’s ‪#TdF‬ began in Limoux, reputed home to the oldest sparkling wine in the world. Blanquette de Limoux was documented here in 1531

Monday, July 16. #TdF riders ended today’s stage in SW France’s Pau Porte des Pyrénées, home to Jurançon AOC & grapes Gros Manseng, Petit Manseng & Courbu

Tuesday, July 17. Rest day.

Wednesday, July 18. Hopefully Tues’ rest day prepped #TdF riders for 2day’s ride thru Pyrenées-Atlantiques & Région Aquitaine. Aquitaine’s cap. city? Bordeaux

Thursday, July 19. Today’s #TdF riders climbed to the mountain resort of Peyragudes, where locals drink Frênette – an alcohol made from ash trees.

Friday, July 20. #TdF riders passed through town of Cahors today, centre of AOC Cahors where main grape is Malbec (aka Côt or Auxerrois)

Saturday, July 21. On this 2nd to last day of #TdF, riders time-trialled through the Région Centre, the main feature of which is the Loire (BEST Chenin Blanc)

Sunday, July 22. Congrats to British rider Bradley Wiggins – winner of this year’s #TdF! We’ll toast to you w Champagne!

Written By:

Treve Ring is a wine writer, editor, judge, consultant and certified sommelier, and has been with EAT Magazine for over a decade. In addition to her work with EAT, she is a Wine Critic and National Judge for WineAlign, ...

Comments are closed.